h1

LX2 Diary blog migration..

July 30, 2008

I have been delaying this decision for a while, but finally it had to be:

THIS BLOG IS MOVED TO:

www.erikahrend.com/smallsensordiary

Reasons why:

  • WordPress has got restrictions and limitations regarding publishing media such as Flash and virtual tours (when hosting with them) that make it impossible to add this kind of stuff to the site. I have decided to host the blog in my own server in order to be able to include all the new stuff I am working on..
  • With the arrival of the GX100-and whatever may come in the future… 😉 – this is not a LX2 Diary exclusively any more..
  • For quite a while I have felt really curious about self-hosting the blog and what kind of experience that would be so I guess this is a moment as good as any!!
  • It is amazing the amount of new possiblities it opens..I have imported the whole LX2 diary into the new “smallsensordiary” so it will be contained in it.

I hope you will understand and will excuse me for any inconveniences, I believe it will be worth it. I hope to see you all soon “on the other side”

Best wishes,  Erik Ahrend

12 comments

  1. I know how time consuming a transfer can be, and I did not do it properly yet! I also run into limitations using several blog providers, I like to be in full control and most of the time they won’t let you…

    I am using opera and had to switch to IE8 to see your ‘dirty pano’… I like that a lot, hope you will be able to show us more from your part of the world! Why I like these java panos? I am in full control! 🙂

    good luck, erik, with the new site!


  2. Good luck with the new site Erik!


  3. Ronald, thanks for the support. It has been a interesting, and it is incredible the amount of control it offers.The limit is in your ability with code…I would encourage anybody that has the possibility of hosting a blog to do it, the word is “freedom”. Some internet providers even have a “one button publishing feature”.

    Now, off to have fun!!

    Erik.


  4. Cris, thanks!! Hope to see you there soon.. 😉


  5. Congrats with your new blog Erik. I like to comment and your new blog, but I need to login. I hope you can figure it out.

    In the meantime I like you pano, but have you also figured it out to try it in Flash?

    Wouter


  6. Wouter, thanks for the comments and for visiting! I allready changed the settings in the new blog (oops!), anyone can post now..

    I am testing and considering different options for the new blog, the VR format among them..I intend to publish panoramas in Both Java & Flash, and probably will try Quicktime too..I am studying using http://www.viewat.org (interestingly a spanish company!!) for the Flash panos hosting and display..

    Erik.


  7. Congrats with the new blog Erik! When I try to visit, my browser crashes. This is happening on both Firefox and IE 7 on a PC, and no other sites are crashing my browser. Has anyone else reported any problems?

    Amin


  8. HI Amin and thanks for the warning. No, I haven´t had any reports, that´s curious. I have tried the new site with Opera, Netscape, Firefox, and Safari with no problems, but I am running a Mac. I will try from several different PC´s this weekend and see what happens!!

    Thanks again and please let me know if you continue to have problems with it.

    Cheers, Erik.


  9. Hi Erik,
    No problems from two Macs and a PC at home. I guess it’s just something strange with my work PC…
    Regards,
    Amin


  10. Thanks Amin, I feel better now!! 😉

    Best, Erik.


  11. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


  12. Sign: wdpad Hello!!! ddakr and 6098thkansznhb and 5176 : I will try to recommend this post to my friends and family, cuz its really helpful.



Leave a comment