h1

The ones that didn´t make it.

May 28, 2008

It´s one month now since this blog saw the light. I thank you all for the warm welcome and all the coments. I thought I would slip in some of the photographs that didn´t make it to the blog during this month. May them speak for themselves..

CHILDHOOD

Panasonic LX2, f5.6, 1/320, 6,3mm, iso200, Colour JPEG Processed in PS
THE ONE

Panasonic LX2, f8, 1/2000, 6,3mm, iso100, Colour JPEG Processed in PS
KIDS GAME

Panasonic LX2, f8, 5Seconds, 12,5mm, iso100, B&W JPEG Processed in PS
GHOST

Panasonic LX2, f8, 1/8, 6,3mm, iso100, B&W JPEG Processed in PS
THEATRE

Panasonic LX2, f8, 1/800, 23,2mm, iso100, Colour JPEG Processed in PS
INTERCULTURAL

Panasonic LX2, f2.8, 1/30, 6,3mm, iso800, B&W JPEG Processed in PS
LONGING

Panasonic LX2, f8, 1/2000, 6,3mm, iso100, Colour JPEG Processed in PS
EARPHONES

Panasonic LX2, f4.9, 1/800, 23.2mm, iso100, B&W JPEG Processed in PS 
TWO WORLDS

Panasonic LX2, f2.8, 1/60, 6,3mm, iso400, B&W JPEG Processed in PS
SHADOW

Panasonic LX2, f5.6, 1/640, 18mm, iso200, B&W JPEG Processed in PS

 

 

 

10 comments

  1. Erik, I’d really love an article about your conversion/postprocessing techniques.

    I really like the tones you get, especially in low light and backlight situations, but I still have not figured how to get them.


  2. Michele, I am really flattered by your praise. The truth is that even when there is a part of the processing that is more or less standard, every image takes it´s own bit of playing. Being mainly a JPEG shooter, I find the LX2 B&W files a very good starting point, though straight out of the camera they lack that “punch”, but I prefer keeping parameters such a contrast low on the camera to avoid loosing too much data and working the files a bit later in the computer.

    As for processing techniques, stay tuned to Wouter´s blog , I am really looking forward to his own “darkroom” technique article as I am finding his images really moving, I like his tonalities very much and he seems to be giving his files a “tranquility flavour” I can´t really express in words and that I really love.

    I might get myself to write some stuff about processing..If I find the time and energy!!

    Once again, thanks for visiting and for your warm comments.

    Best wishes,Erik.


  3. Some great pictures. Love the “Childhood” picture, great expression and tones in the image. “Intercultural” and “Longing” are great images and I like the composition in both.
    Earphones is nice and I like the shadows but I would have cropped the person from the image completely as the shadows on the right side are very good on their own.


  4. I am glad these photographs still made it to your blog. They are all very good, especially the first two are outstanding. You have a good eye!


  5. Thanks Wouter, they had to make it!!


  6. Cris, Thanks!! Nice to have you back. I debated long about cropping the person in the earphone pic completely but still left it..

    Regarding childhood, Laura, aka “Wiwo”, is the sweetest child I´ve ever met. She won my heart. When she was small she loved to hear me whistle and when attempted to whistle herself all that came out was the sound”wi-wo”. Hence her name. I still call her so, she seems to like it. In return, as he little tongue found it offensive to pronounce the word “Erik” she baptised me “Akiki”. She still calls me so, and I swear, if she ever learns how to pronounce my name correctly my heart will be broken…

    Best, Erik.


  7. Erik, this is lovely. Hope you will be forever Akiki for her.
    Not sure what your job is but you are a very good writer. I mentioned it before but your words give so much more impact to your pictures, not many people manage this. There is a lot of emotion and honesty in what you write, even about your “photographic crap” :).


  8. Cris, thanks for the beautifull words!! As for what I do for a living, I do mainly virtual reality (virtual tours) for the touristic and real estate industry (hotels, restaurants, private and corporate residences…). I also do website design and development from time to time when the oportunity arises..

    Cheers, Erik.


  9. I just posted an article about my B&W conversion technique with Adobe Lightroom on my blog. If you are interested you can read it here.


  10. Wouter, thanks!! I have been waiting for that eagerly..Some nice read for sunday!!

    You have a beautifull weekend.

    Erik.



Leave a Reply

